Day 2..

Joy, Joy, Joy!  Waking up in the morning knowing I am not hung over.  Not having a wine binge night before. Relief when I open my eyes first thing.  So happy 🙂 My husband and I had a wonderful night last night.  We enjoyed dinner and conversation with some new friends.  No drinkers here. Why? Because,  I am a spirit-filled born again Christ believer.  And my friends are too.  And no one knows my struggle.  I hide it well.  At least I think I do or did.  How the heck then can I be a champion wine drinker.  For goodness sake, the two don’t go together.  God has a lot to say about drinking too much and drunkenness. So then why would I continue to struggle with this addiction, stronghold, character flaws….whatever you want to call it.  Well the taste of wine has been on my lips long before I “met” Jesus.  And while some things in my life changed, not my love for wine.  You see, I don’t drink to escape, I don’t drink because I hate my life, I don’t drinks cause I have a deep rooted issue.  I drink because I love wine….well I did drink I should say. Right, because I’m just sober.

I have discovered in reading the Big Book, AAs “Bible” to recovery, that there are different types of alcoholics.  But according to “The Doctor’s Opinion” there is one common denominator with all of them and it is this so called “allergy” to alcohol.  We cannot start drinking without developing the phenomenon of craving.  A craving allergy….hmmm.  Well whatever you want to call it.  I have it.  I have tried for years to keep my wine drinking in moderation.  There have been successes, especially in public, work events etc.  but it took an enormous amount of self control to achieve.  So today, day 2, I concede to the fact that I cannot have an alcoholic drink, ever.

Leave a comment